About Foundation
RAIC Endowment Funds & Scholarships
Moriyama RAIC Prize
Version Française

About Foundation

Mission and Objectives

The Foundation was established in 1964 to strengthen the profession and is governed by a Board of Trustees.


The RAIC Foundation is committed to advancing excellence and knowledge in Canadian architecture by supporting programs that ensure a vibrant place for architecture in Canadian society, the advancement of excellence in architecture, and a strong architectural profession throughout Canada.


  • To promote public discussion of architectural ideas affecting society;
  • To support scholars in advanced research relating to community and the built environment;
  • To support students and interns in their architectural programs.

The RAIC Foundation Trustees oversee the administration of the RAIC Foundation Awards established by bequests from members of the Institute, in addition to its own programs.

Foundation Trustees

Stuart Howard, architect AIBC, SAA, FRAIC, AIA (Chair)
President, Stuart Howard Architects Inc
Vancouver, BC

Brian Hall B. B. A., MBA (Vice-Chair)
Managing Director, Canadian Precast Prestressed Concrete Institute
Ottawa, ON

J.Robert Thibodeau FRAIC AIBC AAA SAA MAA OAA OAQ AANB NSAA NLAA LEED AP (Secretary-Treasurer)
Architect & President J.Robert Thibodeau Architecture + Design Inc.
Montreal, QC & Vancouver, BC

Yves Gosselin, FIRAC (Executive Director)
Royal Architectural Institute of Canada Foundation
Ottawa, ON

David Stubbs, B.Eng., P. Eng. (Trustee)
Director Canada Masonry Design Centre
Cambridge, ON

Barry Johns, BArch, AAA, FRAIC, RCA, (Hon) FAIA, LEED® AP (Trustee)
President, Barry Johns (Architecture) Limited
Edmonton, AB

Mike Yorke (Trustee)
President, Local 27 Carpenters' District Council of Ontario
Toronto, ON

Dave Edwards, SAA, PP/FRAIC, RIBA, (hon) FAIA, (hon) FCARM, LEED AP (Trustee)
Partner, de Lint + Edwards Architects
Regina, SK