About Foundation
RAIC Endowment Funds & Scholarships

About Foundation

Mission and Objectives

The Foundation was established in 1964 to strengthen the profession and is governed by a Board of Trustees.


The RAIC Foundation is committed to advancing excellence and knowledge in Canadian architecture by supporting programs that ensure a vibrant place for architecture in Canadian society, the advancement of excellence in architecture, and a strong architectural profession throughout Canada.


  • To promote public discussion of architectural ideas affecting society;
  • To support scholars in advanced research relating to community and the built environment;
  • To support students and interns in their architectural programs.

The RAIC Foundation Trustees oversee the administration of the RAIC Foundation Awards established by bequests from members of the Institute, in addition to its own programs.

Foundation Trustees

Stuart HowardChair
Stuart founded Stuart Howard Architects (SHA’s) in 1977 and celebrates over 43 years positively contributing to the built environment. Stuart’s identity is defined by the exceptional quality of work, innovative designs and creative problem solving. Over the years, Stuart and SHA has participated in a variety of building technologies including single and multi-family residential, institutional facilities projects, and the rehabilitation of buildings. Stuart has been past President of RAIC, AIBC, Chair Committee of Canadian Architectural, Founding Member AIA Canada Chapter, Treasure AIA Canada Society.
Brian HallVice-Chair
Brian is the Managing Director, Canadian Precast Prestressed Concrete Institute and the designer of the CPCI's continuing-education program which emphasizes on educating Architects, Engineers and AEC Construction Professionals. Brian is the originator of CPCI Sustainable Strategy which includes: the development of CPCI Precast Concrete Life Cycle Assessment Study, North American Sustainable Plant Program and the CPCI North American Environmental Product Declaration for precast concrete.
J. Robert ThibodeauSecretary-Treasurer
Robert is the President of Thibodeau Architecture + Design and heads the Vancouver team while overseeing the firms operations across Canada. A graduate of McGill’s School of Architecture (1976) and on faculty in the late 1990’s, Robert leads a multidisciplinary team with a special passion for sustainable design and Green Architecture. From the onset of his practice in 1978 and after he migrated to the West Coast in 2000, his attention has been on building envelopes that promote energy efficiency and healthy environments. A former Registrar and Dean of the College of Fellows, he is the current secretary-treasurer of the Foundation.
Diarmuid NashTrustee
Diarmuid is a partner at Moriyama + Teshima Architects, he has served the Royal Architectural Institute of Canada as a Board Member, President and most recently as Chancellor of the RAIC College of Fellows. He is a Past President of the Ontario Association of Architects, and currently a lecturer at the Daniels School of Architecture, University of Toronto.
David StubbsTrustee
B.Eng., P.Eng.
David Stubbs is the Executive Director of the Canada Masonry Centre (CMC) and is responsible for the operations of the Ontario Masonry Training Centre, the Ontario and Canadian Masonry Contractors Associations, and the Metropolitan Industrial and Commercial Masonry Contractors, Inc. He is also a past Director of the Canada Masonry Design Centre; and has been responsible for technical publications, educational programs and research at universities across Canada.
Susan RuptashTrustee
Architect, OAA, FRAIC – Chancellor, RAIC College of Fellows
Susan, a Toronto-based architect, was elected as Chancellor of the RAIC College in 2020. A firm believer in diversity and equity, Susan strives to help the College and the Institute become more representative of the many exceptional leaders in our profession. Susan actively contributes to giving back to the profession through mentoring and volunteering.
Barry JohnsTrustee
Architect AAA Life Member FRAIC RCA (HON) FAIA, LEEDtm
Barry Johns is an Edmonton architect and former Chancellor of the College of Fellows, Royal Architectural Institute of Canada (2011 – 2017). His multiple award inning career began with Arthur Erickson in Vancouver and spans private practice, teaching and public service. He is the first international recipient of the Leslie M. Boney medal (2018) from the American Institute of Architects where he is an Honorary Fellow, for outstanding service to the profession.
Vince CatalliTrustee
Sustainability Consultant
Vince Catalli studied architecture at Carleton university, then worked as a student and intern in the offices of KPMB, WZMH and Leonard Koffman. Then, inspired by the Cradle 2 Cradle design philosophy of William McDonough, he dedicated his career to the promotion of sustainable design. As a consultant, he worked in both public and private sectors, most recently on a Climate Change Resilience Plan for Parliament Hill. Vince was appointed a Trustee in 2021 and has endowed a scholarship in Sustainable Design Innovation, to be awarded for the first time in 2022.
Dave Edwards
David is a Regina based architect with a busy general practice serving clients in Western Canada. David has served as President of the Saskatchewan Association of Architects, was made a life member in 2010 and has served on the board of the Royal Architectural Institute of Canada, as President and Dean of the College of Fellows. He is an Honorary member of AIA and FCARM. He is a strong believer in the profession and serves on several national committees that promote education and the profession of architecture.
Jim TaggartExecutive Director
Jim joined the RAICF as Executive Director in January 2018. In addition to this part-time position, he continues working as an instructor in the Bachelor of architectural Science program at BCIT and as Editor of Sustainable Architecture and Building Magazine (SABMag). He is also a multi-award winning author of books including ‘Toward a Culture of Wood Architecture (2011) and ‘The Architecture of Engagement’ (2019).