About Foundation
RAIC Endowment Funds & Scholarships
RAIC Prize
Version Franšaise

RAIC International Prize

Call for submissions for the 2019 RAIC International Prize now open

RAIC International Prize

In 2013, the Royal Architectural Institute of Canada (RAIC), the RAIC Foundation and distinguished Canadian architect Raymond Moriyama created a unique international prize in order to share Canadian architectural values with an international audience and to celebrate architecture that is socially transformative.

The $100,000 RAIC International Prize, formerly known as the Moriyama RAIC International Prize, recognizes the power of great architecture to transform society. It is hoped that the RAIC International Prize will be regarded as one of the world's most prestigious international prizes in architecture.

The RAIC International Prize is awarded every two years. It consists of a monetary award of CAD $100,000 and a handcrafted sculpture designed by Canadian designer Wei Yew. Every edition of the prize will feature a new piece by Wei Yew, each based on a separate and unique interpretation of the Canadian landscape.

The Prize is awarded to an architect, team of architects, or architect-led collaboration, based anywhere in the world, in recognition of a single work of architecture that is judged to be transformative within its societal context and expressive of the humanistic values of justice, respect, equality and inclusiveness.

In addition to the main Prize, three students from a Canadian university architecture program will each receive scholarships of CAD $5,000.

For full details, please visit: internationalprize.raic.org/.